Chris Reed
in 30 Years of Emerging Voices: Ideas, Form, Resonance
The Architectural League of New York
Published 2015 by Princeton Architectural Press, New York
302 pages
30 Years of Emerging Voices, 2015
The prestigious Emerging Voices Award was created in 1982 by the Architectural League of New York to showcase the work of early- to mid-career North American architects. Each year, through an invited competition, a jury selects practitioners or firms with a significant body of realized work that represents the best of its kind and has the potential to impact the future of architecture and landscape design. Emerging Voices 30 documents and critically assesses the first three decades of the League's Emerging Voices program. Essays by Reed Kroloff, Ashley Schafer, and Karen Stein, and concise observations by leading critics, architects, and historians complement the presentation of work from the more than two hundred individuals and firms that have been selected for the program. Emerging Voices 30 is an ideal lens through which to interpret the lasting impact of this influential group of architects.